The Art of Cupcakes


So tonight was purely experimental…and artsy.  I dreamt up these crazy cupcake concoctions after discovering the tiniest of peanut butter cups at our local Trader Joe’s.  I took one look at them and realized “hey, that looks like the base of a cupcake”, and my imagination went a little wild from there.  And let me tell you, icing each one of those little suckers by hand was no easy task, they’re about the size of a large pea.  But gosh, they sure are cute 🙂

The first one I call “Cupcake Explosion”

 

And this one I call “Field of Cupcakes”

 

Here are the itty bitty “cupcakes”, freshly iced and sprinkled and ready for their debut 😀

 

And this one has nothing to do with the previous few, but I’ve been wanting to try one of these out for the longest time, I’ve seen several variations.  And, well, it was a night of experiments, so what better time to give it a whirl.  I used the same frosting as above, just with a different tint, so unfortunately it came out a little thicker than I would have liked.  But, considering I didn’t really have a game plan going into it, I think they still turned our pretty decent 🙂  You can bet I’ll be making more of these little gems in the future, I can just imagine all the possibilities! 😉

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leighbakes
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 14:13:56

    Oh my goodness–that is the best use EVER for a Trader Joe’s mini peanut butter cup! I’m in love! If you don’t mind, I might need to try my hand at that sometime. Cute and delicious!

    Reply

  2. mandy
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 14:47:07

    Thanks Leigh – go for it! I’d love to see how they turn out! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

