Happy Valentine’s Day!


I got quite the baking itch (big surprise, I know) and decided to try a few new recipes in honor of this sweet-filled holiday.  First I tried out a red velvet cupcake.  Mind you, I’m not a red velvet fan, but it’s a classic for Valentine’s Day with it’s vibrant red color, so I decided to give it a try. It came out just fine, it’s got a perfect crumb and I topped it with a smooth cream cheese with hints of lemon zest and white chocolate…but, alas, it’s still just not really my thing.  Oh well 🙂

Next, I took another stab at my raspberry swirl “upgrade”.  My previous recipe that I’ve used was “ok”, but it wasn’t something I was in love with and I really wanted to make it better.  Armed with a new approach and a new raspberry syrup-like ingredient courtesy of Mom, I put on my thinking cap and this is what I came up with:

Inside are layers of vanilla and raspberry cake, with a swirl of raspberry drizzle in the middle (as well as in the frosting).  I wish I had remembered to cut one open before I packaged them up…they were quite pretty inside!  Totally in love with this version 🙂

Finally, my last minute creation for the night: the french toast cupcake, aka: breakfast in a cupcake.  I thought I was done when I finished the raspberry ones, but I just couldn’t help myself (again, big surprise, right?).  I’ve been craving maple and this fit the bill.  Maple syrup and cinnamon cupcake with a maple syrup frosting, dusted with cinnamon and powdered sugar.  Seriously, it tastes just like french toast.  Translation: YUM!

Leave a Reply

