Charming Confections…the beginning


So here is where I’ll begin my journey.

Let me preface by saying: I didn’t go to culinary school, I’m not a pastry chef in a 5-star restaurant (or even a 2-star), and I don’t really consider myself a master of sweets.  But I love baking, and I have an eye for beautiful things.   I’m not vegan and I’m not organic, not by any stretch of the imagination…but I have the utmost respect for anyone who can turn that stuff into total masterpieces, I’ve seen it done many times!  However, I have to caution you that if that’s what you’re looking for, you won’t find it here.  Bottom line: I love mixing and matching flavors to conceive delightful little creations that make people smile and go “yummm”.   These ain’t your momma’s cupcakes kids…

Here are some of my creations so far:

“Southern Belle” – A delightful southern classic turned cupcake.  Banana cupcake with pineapple, coconut, and walnuts, topped with a rich cream cheese frosting, walnuts, and a cherry on top.

“Raspberry Royale” – Raspberry cupcake with raspberry buttercream (real fruit!)

“Orange Dreamsicle” – Orange-infused cupcake with a “sparkling” orange buttercream (sparkling due to the orange soda in the frosting!)

“Peachy Keen” – A delightful concoction of brown sugar cupcake with fresh peaches, topped with a caramel buttercream, caramel drizzle, and toffee bits.

“Strawberry Heaven” – Fresh strawberry cupcake with strawberry buttercream.  A co-worker dubbed it “strawberry heaven” after eating one, so that’s what I named it 🙂

“Tropical Paradise” – A pineapple-mandarin orange cupcake with a citrus-y buttercream.  This is where it all started – my first attempt at combining flavors.  I have another variation that uses a pineapple whipped frosting instead – equally delightful!

“Maple Pecan” and “Chocolate Addiction” – The first is a maple cupcake infused with real maple syrup and topped with a butter pecan buttercream.  The second is death by chocolate…chocolate cupcake with a chocolate ganache filling, topped with a milk chocolate buttercream and chocolate sprinkles.  My two personal favorites!

Leave a Reply

